

Communication, Conduct, and Pragmatic Interplay The 78th Annual Conference, October 16-18, 2020 ONWARD WITH A SPECTAULAR NEW LOGO DESIGN

As the logo competition organizer of the New York State Communication Association (NYSCA), it is my great honor and pleasure to announce that our association has officially adopted the **logo design submitted by Morgan Miller at Slippery Rock University** (SRU). The logo will be used in a variety of applications, including letterhead, brochures, signage, Eventbrite registration system, the official NYSCA website, and social media channels for our 78th annual conference and onward.

Our warmest congratulations go to both Morgan and SRU on this huge accomplishment. A junior, Morgan's area of concentration is Integrated Communication, with a minor in Business Administration. Slippery Rock University (SRU) is a public university in Butler County in Pennsylvania. Its communication program offers degrees in digital media production, public relations, integrated marketing communication, journalism, and communication studies, and minors in graphic design and communication studies.

SRU's communication department faculty has had a powerful presence at NYSCA's annual conventions, and holds a record of exemplary service to our association's mission. Professor Emeritus Valerie Swarts and Professor Thom Flynn of Slippery Rock University have been past recipients of the Neil Postman award, which is given in recognition of contributions to the advancement of NYSCA and encouragement of students' involvement to present their research in NYSCA's annual conventions.

Professor Doug Strahler, alumnus and current faculty member at the communication department at Slippery Rock University, served as NYSCA's primary conference planner for its 75th anniversary, and as the association's president at the 76th. He is currently the chair of the nominating committee at NYSCA.

The winning logo submission by Morgan Miller was one of forty-four submitted designs from a variety of national and international institutions and students, all of whom were determined to serve NYSCA with their submissions, despite being aware that prizes would be given only to those who placed first and second, and that only one winning logo would be adopted by the association.

The passion and wonderful spirit that the top four finalists had for the competition was incredible. All of them agreed to adapt their logos according to the gracious recommendations of Professor Arthur Hoener (Graphic Design, MFA), State University of New York at New Paltz, in order to add more vibrancy, currency, and efficiency to their submissions.

NYSCA is honored to present Morgan Miller with first place in this competition. Kaitlin Parker, alumna with B.F.A degree in Digital Arts at New York Institute of Technology, placed second in the 2020 logo competition.

We also would like to proudly acknowledge honorable mentions in the competition: submissions from Etaf Abu Hadda, a junior studying Information Security at the Islamic University of Gaza in the Palestinian Territories; and from a recent alumna – as of May 2020 – Lucia Petruccelli, who graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in PR with a minor in Criminal Justice from Roger William's University. Lucia Petruccelli's professor, Professor Emeritus Roxanne O'Conner is also the recipient of NYSCA's Neil Postman award, and has served NYSCA with great compassion as Editor of Proceedings for 14 years.

NYSCA's 2020 logo competition also included submissions from Christine Nappi, a sophomore at Manhattan College with a major in Communication and a minor in Marketing; Isabelle Flowers at Slippery Rock University, with double majors in Communication and Integrated Marketing; Imtithal Audi, a graduate student studying Human Rights at The University of London; Juliana Fornabaio, a junior from Ithaca College with a major in Integrated Marketing Communications; and Ly Do, a recent alumna of Ithaca College.

Our deep appreciation also goes to NYSCA past and present officers: Past President Donna Flayhan at The State University of New York at New Paltz, for creating a short video to promote the logo competition; Past President Anastacia Kurylo, for providing incredible support of NYSCA's 2020 logo competition; and current Executive Council members: Tyler Lacarrubba, graduate student at Fordham University, Arshia Anwer, assistant professor at Manhattan College, and Jason Wrench at State University of New York at New Paltz, for working behind the scenes, and going above and beyond to facilitate the very long process of the logo competition.

All the best,





Noura Ahmad Hajjaj

Vice President and Conference Planner, New York State Communication Association

Lecturer of Communication

Department of Communication

1 Hawk Drive, JFT 406

New Paltz, NY 12561